Chaitra Navratri and Vasant Durga Puja Calendar

Chaitra Navratri: Know the Vasant Navratri 2015 Dates and Vasant Durga Puja Calendar


Chaitra Navratri and Vasant Durga Puja Calendar. Gudi Padwa is the first day of the nine day long Chaitra Navratri or Vasant Navratri starting today. The nine days festivity which starts on the first day of Hindu Luni-Solar calendar marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year. Chaitra is the first month of Hindu lunar calendar. Chaitra Navratri is also known as Vasant Navratri. The nine days of Chaitra Navratri is dedicated to nine forms of Maa Durga. Chaitra Navratri is more popular in northern India. In Maharashtra Chaitra Navratri begins with Gudi Padwa and in Andhra Pradesh it begins with Ugadi.

The birth of Lord Ram to Dasharath and Kaushalya in Ayodhya is celebrated as Ram Navami and it falls on the ninth day during Navratri festivity. Ram Navami which falls on March 28, 2015 marks the end of the nine- day long festival. The birth of the seventh avatar of Vishnu which is celebrated as Ram Navami is one of the most important Hindu festivals. Temples, communities and family shrines are decorated for the festive celebration. People also observe fast during the day and end the day with feasting.

Following are the Chaitra Navratri/ Vasant Navratri days:

21 March 2015 (Day 1) – Pratipada/Kalash Sthapana & Sailputri

22 March 2015 (Day 2 & 3) – Dwitiya Brahmacharini Puja & Tritiya Chandraghanta Puja

23 March 2015 (Day 4) – Chaturthi or Kushmanda Puja

24 March 2015 (Day 5) – Panchami or Skandamata Puja

25 March 2015 (Day 6) – Shashthi or Katyayani Puja

26 March 2015 (Day 7) – Saptami (Maha Saptami) or Kalaratri Puja

27 March 2015 (Day 8) – Durga Ashtami or Sandhi Puja

28 March 2015 (Day 9) – Rama Navami 

We hope this new year will bring you health and prosperity and give you all delights of life.

Source :
Get FREE Job Alerts

Enter your email address: